DC ditties: Union Market

vibrant crop

I have always been a huge fan of farmers markets and love to frequent Eastern Market in Capitol Hill, so when I heard about the recent revitalization of Union Market I knew I had to check it out.  For those who are historically-inclined, Union Market opened in 1931 as an open air market and served DC until the late 60’s when the city banned outdoor sales of meat and dairy.  An indoor facility was built shortly after on the current site, and has been operating ever since.  In the past year, there has been a major revitalization effort and the new and improved Union Market opened its doors this September.  On Saturday morning, with my foodie husband in tow, I skipped off to the market, did a little shopping, a lot of eating and some picture snapping so I could share all the sights and sounds with you.

We indulged in a variety of the market’s offerings:

DELISH lamb meatball slider:

photo (38) - Copy slider

Korean BBQ tacos:   these were very tasty– they serve vegetarian, chicken & steak.

Union Market 4

DC Empanadas (puts Julia’s to shame)

photo (40)

And one of the best things I have eaten EVER- fresh potato knishes & the soda pop bar at Buffalo & Bergen

photo (39)

I highly recommend a visit to Union Market, it’s a great place to grab lunch and they have a wide array of local farmstands with fresh produce, meats and dairy products for sale.  I also stumbled upon the cutest boutique and picked up some goodies for people on my Christmas list.  Union Market is located in the newly re-developed NoMa area.  I suggest driving as this is one place in DC (they are rare) that has a huge free parking lot.  Be sure to check out more information  on their website– unionmarketdc.com

Union Market 7

2 thoughts on “DC ditties: Union Market

Leave a comment